The Roundhouse is an iconic symbol of Seaforth and has been part of the fabric of our community since the early 1900s. When built around 1902 it was used as the focal point for the fair on what was then the fairgrounds. Over the years the property the Roundhouse stands on was transferred by the Seaforth Agricultural Society to the municipality for an arena and community centre. The Agricultural Society maintained ownership of the adjacent property and has maintained the building over the past 120 years. The Roundhouse continues to be used annually for the Seaforth Fall Fair which is one of the oldest fall fairs in the province celebrating its 176th edition this past fall.
In the past few years upgrades to the Roundhouse include a new cedar shake roof, a new interior cement floor and updated inside woodworking. This past summer rather than painting the exterior, VInyl siding was installed, windows were framed and new sign over the door. We are extremely happy with the results and we look forward to this iconic building being part of many more fairs!
However, all of these renovations were costly, totalling over $50,000 for the most recent series of renovations. Therefore we are reaching out to the community, asking you to consider making a donation to help us offset costs.